Please visit our Sponsors

Related FAQs: Moray Eels, Non-Moray Marine Eels, Conger Eels, Moray Identification, Moray Selection, Moray Compatibility, Moray Systems, Moray Feeding, Moray Disease,

Related Articles: Non-Moray Marine Eels, Conger EelsSnake & Worm Eels, Morays: Moray Eels, The Zebra Moray (Gymnomuraena zebra), Snowflake Morays, The "Freshwater" Moray Eels,

The Diversity of Aquatic Life Series

Marine Eels other than Morays


Bob Fenner

Conger triporiceps


The True Eels, Order Anguilliformes, lack pelvic fins and related skeletal material. Some are also without pectoral finnage and suspensory girdle. Many are scale-less, those with them are cycloid, small, embedded. These "snake-like" fishes (many head-lengths into body length) typically have small gill openings, and their gills lack the rakers of advanced bony fishes. The group is missing a number of head bones, pyloric caeca, and have a peculiar leptocephalus larval stage in common. According to Nelson (3d ed.) there are some three suborders, fifteen families, 141 genera and 738 described species of true eels. 

Family Ophichthidae, Snake and Worm Eels.

Family Congridae, Conger Eels.


What's in a name? A bunch of Non-Eels though called them: 

Family Anarhichadidae, Wolf fishes, Wolf Blennies, Wolf Eels; North Atlantic, North Pacific. Two genera with four species. These neat, hand-trainable fishes are mainly seen in public aquaria as they can be enormous (up to 2.5 meters) in size. Gentle giants that are favorites of Public Aquariums everywhere. An Anarrhichthys ocellatus at the Birch Aquarium, San Diego, and Anarichas lupus

Become a Sponsor Features:
Daily FAQs FW Daily FAQs SW Pix of the Day FW Pix of the Day New On WWM
Helpful Links Hobbyist Forum Calendars Admin Index Cover Images
Featured Sponsors: